Membership Engagement Committee

  

CARA is a unique community for connecting with supportive peers in the research administration profession in Canada. As an initiative to enrich the overall experiences of CARA members and its volunteers, the CARA Membership Engagement Committee was formed in late 2014.

Did you know that less than 10% of active CARA members are volunteers?  As a member-driven community, CARA relies heavily on contributions of individual members for providing timely services and accurate information to their peers.  To me, a part of CARA is analogous to a Google search engine. The success or popularity of Google is correlated with the frequency and quality of keyword/phrase inputs from a large number of web browsers, which in turn, benefits web browsers because they can easily look up relevant output data. In CARA,  as more members share their insights and professional knowledge through webinar presentations, help out at regional and national conferences, submit research administration articles to the newsletter, and mentor their peers, individual members will be equipped with a greater wealth of professional knowledge and provided with more opportunities to engage in meaningful activities. 

Our membership numbers have reached an all-time high with almost 900 members as of December 2014, but that number is only a small fraction of those in the Research Administration profession in Canada. CARA membership has the potential to grow from within CARA-affiliated institutions and by reaching out to non-university higher education institutions such as colleges and institutes.

The Membership Engagement Committee will be actively involved in planning activities that will facilitate member recruitment, member retention, and volunteer recognition.

A survey has been distributed to the CARA community recently.  Answers from the survey will allow us to better understand the needs of individual CARA members and together we can explore volunteer opportunities that will best suit members’ concerns and professional interests.

On behalf of the Membership Engagement Committee, we would love to hear your constructive feedback and suggestions. If you can spare a few moments and are passionate about enriching the experiences of you and your CARA peers, our committee encourages you to join us.

Membership Engagement Committee Member

  

Members

  

Angela Zeno

Chair of the CARA Membership Engagement Committee

Angela Zeno is a long-time leader in CARA’s finance community and has been recognized for her achievements in welcoming new colleagues to CARA, co-developing conferences workshops for fellow finance experts, and presenting research finance webinars to our membership. Angela is a networking catalyst among research finance professionals and she has helped created a collegial, dynamic community of her peers. 

Dominique Michaud

Dominique is the Director, Research Development in the Office of the Vice-President Research & Graduate Studies at Concordia University. She has been active in research administration for over 30 years with prior appointments first as a research coordinator and then as a research advisor in humanities and social sciences at Université du Québec à Montréal before taking her position at Concordia in 2012. She is a Past President of ADARUQ, the Québec Association of University Research Administrators where she was active from 2007-2013. She has been active in CARA since 2013 when she first presented at the New Administrators Workshop. Dominique has been sitting on the CARA Board since 2015, first as Member-at-Large from 2015-2017 and then Vice-President from 2017-2021.

Erica Conte

Erica Conte is the Manager, Research Funding Opportunities at St. Michael’s Hospital, in Toronto. Erica is responsible for the facilitation of pre-award support of grant applications and award nominations, including the Canadian Foundation for Innovation, CIHR, Canadian Research Chairs, the Royal Society of Canada, and the Ministry of Research and Innovation. Erica collaborates with the researchers, physicians, research leadership, administration, the St. Michael’s Hospital Foundation and external funders to increase the funding success in a competitive research environment. With a PhD in Physiology (University of Western Ontario), a post-doctoral and research associate background (University of Turin, Italy) and experience in a medical device company (Estor S.p.A, Italy), Erica can relate to the researchers from an academic, industry and administrative perspective.

Jocelyn Crivea

Jocelyn Crivea is the manager of the Institute for Energy, Environment and Sustainable Communities at the University of Regina. Her professional work experience includes ten years in research administration at postsecondary institutions in Saskatchewan and Alberta, developing successful research grant proposals and negotiating research funding arrangements with government and industry.

Jessie Lam

Jessie Lam is the Manager, Research Support Services and Special Projects at UBC Sauder School of Business. Her current profile covers research grant and award facilitation for faculty members, special project management for the Dean’s Office, and administration & finance for four research centres at Sauder. Prior to this position she served as an Executive Assistant to the Senior Associate Dean, Faculty & Research and she was responsible for human resources management for over 100 faculty members and six secretarial staff.  Her jobs in Sauder gave her opportunities to learn new things. The past special projects or events that she managed include creating a digital interactive exhibit kiosk, organizing international conferences, facilitating Sauder’s accreditation reviews, etc.  As the Sauder Social Entrepreneurship (SSE) Program administrator, Jessie also supported the SSE teams in Kenya and China in the summers of 2015 - 2017.   Jessie is also a passionate and experienced meeting professional for over 15 years. She was honoured to be able to contribute her expertise in the capacity as the event coordinator for CARA National Conference from 2015 - 2019.

Victoria Latimer

Victoria Latimer is the Research Administrator for the Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine at the University of Alberta. Since earning her Bachelor of Science at the UofA, she's worked with research teams in Edmonton and Toronto, including at the Hospital for Sick Children, Ryerson University, and the University of Alberta Hospital. She's thrilled to be involved with CARA, and is currently working toward the Research Administration certificate at Mohawk College.

When not at work, Victoria can generally be found corralling her pair of six-year-old sons, or testing out a new confectionery creation on anyone who will try it.

Anita Chiu

I am a research coordinator at the University of British Columbia.  I joined the CARA newsletter team in 2014 as a volunteer profile coordinator.  Recently, I also became the co-editor of the Brag Bag section.  My roles in the newsletter team have allowed me to get virtually acquainted with my peers working in research administration across Canada, share their passion for volunteering, and learn how they have professionally developed themselves to become who they are today! Everyone has a unique story to bring to the newsletter audience, and we can always learn a lesson or two by reading the stories. Many functions in CARA are driven by volunteers, and it is my total privilege to be in a position to feature their profiles and to celebrate their achievements. Every volunteer is important to CARA’s success, and I would love to feature you next.

Le Comité d’engagement des membres

  

L’ACAAR est une communauté à caractère unique qui met ses membres en contact avec leurs pairs en administration de la recherche au Canada. Le comité d’engagement des membres de l’ACAAR a été créé à la fin 2014 pour enrichir l’expérience globale de ses membres et bénévoles.

Saviez-vous que moins de 10 % des membres actifs de l’ACAAR sont bénévoles? L’ACAAR est une communauté axée sur  ses membres et, par conséquent, dépend dans une très large mesure sur les contributions de membres individuels pour fournir à leurs pairs des services en temps opportun et des renseignements exacts. Selon moi, l’ACAAR est comparable à un moteur de recherche Google. Le succès ou la popularité de Google est étroitement liée à la fréquence et à la qualité des mots-clés/phrases saisies dans un plus grand nombre de navigateurs Web, ce qui est bénéfique pour les navigateurs puisqu’ils peuvent facilement extraire les données pertinentes. Dans le cas de l’ACAAR, plus les membres partagent leurs idées et connaissances professionnelles par l’entremise de webinaires, aident lors de conférences régionales et nationales, soumettent au bulletin des articles en administration de la recherche et deviennent mentor pour leurs pairs, mieux les membres individuels seront outillés avec un bagage de connaissances professionnelles et plus nombreuses seront les possibilités de participer à des activités significatives.

En date de décembre 2014, le nombre de membres a atteint son plus haut niveau avec plus de 900, mais ce chiffre ne représente qu’une petite fraction des personnes occupant un poste en administration de la recherche au Canada. L’ACAAR a le potentiel d’augmenter ses effectifs auprès de ses établissements affiliés, mais aussi en rejoignant des établissements postsecondaires non-universitaires tels que les collèges et les instituts.

Le comité d’engagement des membres participera activement à la planification d’activités qui faciliteront le recrutement et la rétention des membres ainsi que la reconnaissance des bénévoles.

Un sondage a récemment été envoyé aux membres de l’ACAAR. Les réponses nous aideront à mieux comprendre les besoins des membres individuels et, ensemble, nous pourrons explorer les possibilités de bénévolat qui sont les mieux adaptées aux préoccupations et intérêts professionnels des membres.

Au nom du comité d’engagement des membres, nous aimerions connaître vos commentaires constructifs et suggestions. Si vous avez du temps libre et que l’enrichissement de vos expériences et celles de vos pairs vous tient à cœur, notre comité vous encourage à vous joindre à nous.

Anita Chiu, présidente du comité d’engagement des membres de l’ACAAR

Membre du Comité d'engagement

  

Membres

  

Angela Zeno

Angela Zeno est une leader de longue date au sein de la communauté de l'ACAAR, spécialisée dans le domaine de la finance. Elle est reconnue pour le succès dont elle a fait preuve en attirant vers l'ACAAR plusieurs nouveaux collègues, en créant des ateliers destinés à ses collègues experts en finance lors de nos conférences et en présentant des webinaires sur la finance à l'ensemble de nos membres. Angela est un catalyseur pour les activités de réseautage au sein des professionnels du financement de la recherche et a aidé à créer une communauté de pairs collégiale et dyna-mique. 

Lorna Very

Lorna Very est la directrice des subventions, des prix et distinctions et de l’éthique de la recherche dans le Service de gestion de la recherche à l’Université de Calgary. Elle supervise la gestion des subventions externes et internes, des prix et distinctions et de l’unité de l’éthique de la recherche et conformité. Lorna est avec le Service de gestion de la recherche depuis 1989 et a occupé plusieurs postes au sein du Service de gestion de la recherche et du Cabinet du vice-recteur recherche.

Dominique Michaud

Dominique est directrice du développement de la recherche au bureau du vice-recteur à la recherche et aux études supérieures de l'Université Concordia. Elle est active dans le domaine de l'administration de la recherche depuis plus de 30 ans. Elle a d'abord été coordonnatrice de la recherche, puis conseillère en recherche en sciences humaines et sociales à l'Université du Québec à Montréal avant d'entrer en fonction à Concordia en 2012. Elle est une ancienne présidente de l'ADARUQ, l'Association québécoise des administrateurs de recherche universitaire, où elle a été active de 2007 à 2013. Elle est active au sein de l'ACAAR depuis 2013, année où elle a fait sa première présentation à l'atelier des nouveaux administrateurs. Dominique siège au conseil d'administration de l'ACAAR depuis 2015, d'abord comme membre à titre personnel de 2015 à 2017, puis comme vice-présidente de 2017 à 2021.

Erica Conte

Erica Conte est Responsable des Opportunités de financements en recherche au St. Michael’s Hospital de Toronto. Erica facilite le soutien pré-octroi pour les demandes de subventions et nominations, pour des organismes comme la Fondation Canadienne pour l’Innovation, les Chaires de recherche du Canada, la Société Royale du Canada, et le Ministère de la recherche et de l’innovation. Erica collabore avec les chercheurs, médecins, gestionnaire de recherche, l’administration, la Fondation de St Michael’s Hospital, et les organismes subventionnaires externes, afin d’augmenter le taux de financement dans un contexte hautement compétitif. Elle détient un Doctorat en Physiologie (University of Western Ontario), un postdoctorat et une expérience à titre d’Associée de recherche (Université de Turin, Italie); elle a également travaillé pour une compagnie médicale (Estor S.p.A, Italie). Cette triple perspective, à la fois universitaire, industrielle et administrative, permet à Erica de conseiller efficacement les chercheurs.

Jocelyn Crivea

Jocelyn Crivea est la directrice de l’Institut de l’énergie, de l’environnement et des collectivités durable de University of Regina. Son expérience professionnelle comprend 10 ans en administration de la recherche dans des établissements post-secondaires de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta, à élaborer des propositions de recherche fructueuses et à négocier des ententes de financement avec le gouvernement et l’industrie.

Jessie Lam

Jessie Lam est directrice des services de soutien à la recherche et des projets spéciaux à la Sauder School of Business de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique.  Son profil actuel couvre la facilitation des subventions et des bourses de recherche pour les membres du corps professoral, la gestion des projets spéciaux pour le bureau du doyen, ainsi que l'administration et les finances de quatre centres de recherche à Sauder. Avant d'occuper ce poste, elle était assistante de direction auprès du doyen associé principal, faculté et recherche, et était responsable de la gestion des ressources humaines pour plus de 100 membres de la faculté et six secrétaires.   Ses emplois à Sauder lui ont donné l'occasion d'apprendre de nouvelles choses.  Parmi les projets ou événements spéciaux qu'elle a gérés par le passé, citons la création d'une borne d'exposition numérique interactive, l'organisation de conférences internationales, la facilitation des examens d'accréditation de Sauder, etc.  En tant qu'administratrice du programme d'entrepreneuriat social (ESS) de Sauder, Jessie a également soutenu les équipes ESS au Kenya et en Chine au cours des étés 2015 à 2017.   Jessie est également une professionnelle des réunions passionnée et expérimentée depuis plus de 15 ans.  Elle a été honorée de pouvoir apporter son expertise en tant que coordinatrice d'événements pour la conférence nationale de CARA de 2015 à 2019.

Victoria Latimer

Victoria Latimer est l'administratrice de la recherche pour la Faculté de médecine de réadaptation de l'Université de l'Alberta. Depuis l'obtention de son baccalauréat en sciences à l'Université de l'Alberta, elle a travaillé avec des équipes de recherche à Edmonton et à Toronto, notamment au Hospital for Sick Children, à l'Université Ryerson et à l'Hôpital de l'Université de l'Alberta. Elle est ravie de participer aux activités de l'ACAAR et travaille actuellement à l'obtention d'un certificat en administration de la recherche au Mohawk College.
Lorsqu'elle n'est pas au travail, on peut généralement trouver Victoria en train de surveiller ses deux fils de six ans ou de tester une nouvelle création de confiserie sur quiconque veut bien l'essayer.

Anita Chiu

Je suis coordonnatrice de recherche à l’Université de Colombie Britannique. Je suis devenue membre de l’ACAAR en 2014 comme bénévole au profil coordinateur. Plus récemment, je suis également devenue coéditrice de la section du bulletin Brag Bag. Mon rôle dans l’équipe de rédaction m’a permis de connaitre virtuellement mes collègues d’autres universités canadiennes, de partager ma passion de bénévole, et d’apprendre comment ils ont avancés en carrière pour devenir qui ils sont aujourd’hui! Tout le monde à une histoire unique à raconter au public du bulletin, et nous pouvons toujours apprendre une leçon ou deux en lisant leurs histoires.

De nombreuses activités de l’ACAAR sont réalisées grâce aux bénévoles, et j’ai le privilège de pouvoir mettre en valeur leur responsabilité et leur réussite. Chaque bénévole est important au succès de l’ACAAR, et j’adorerai que vous soyez le prochain qui soit mis à l’honneur!