Conseil d'administration

President
Deborah Zornes

Royal Roads University

J'ai eu, et ai, plaisir à siéger sur le conseil d'administration de l'ACAAR - cela me permet de donner en retour à l'organisation, m'offre l'occasion de développer mes habiletés de leadership et me garde bien près de nos membres et de nos partenaires financiers.

I have, and am, enjoying serving on CARA’s board – it allows me to give back to the organization, provides an opportunity to develop my leadership skills, and connects me on a much closer level to our members and to our funding partners.

Vice-President
Dominique Michaud

Dominique Michaud est Directrice, Développement de la recherche, au Bureau de la recherche de l’Université Concordia à Montréal. Dominique est active depuis plus de 25 ans en administration de la recherche, ayant cumulé des postes de coordonnatrice de recherche puis de conseillère en soutien à la recherche dans les secteurs des sciences humaines et sociales à l’Université du Québec à Montréal avant d’entrer en fonction à Concordia en 2012. Elle est présidente honoraire de l’ADARUQ, l’Association des administratrices et administrateurs de recherche universitaire du Québec, et siège actuellement à titre de Membre général du Comité de direction de l’ACAAR.

Secretary-Treasurer
Angela Zeno

York  University 

Angela Zeno est une leader de longue date au sein de la communauté de l'ACAAR, spécialisée dans le domaine de la finance. Elle est reconnue pour le succès dont elle a fait preuve en attirant vers l'ACAAR plusieurs nouveaux collègues, en créant des ateliers destinés à ses collègues experts en finance lors de nos conférences et en présentant des webinaires sur la finance à l'ensemble de nos membres. Angela est un catalyseur pour les activités de réseautage au sein des professionnels du financement de la recherche et a aidé à créer une communauté de pairs collégiale et dyna-mique. 

Membres à Grand

Rachel Brown

Rachel occupe le poste de Conseillère aux subventions et aux contrats de recherche au Collège Niagara depuis plus de 11 ans, ce qui lui a permis d’assister à une période de croissance sans précédent dans les Services de la recherche universitaire du Canada, tout en contribuant à la croissance du Service de la recherche du Collège Niagara. Rachel est passionnée d’amélioration continue et des possibilités d’avancement professionnel. Elle est membre de longue date de l’ACAAR et a contribué de manière active à accroître la visibilité des collèges au sein de cette association. À titre de membre active de l’ACAAR depuis 2011, elle s’est engagée à offrir des occasions de développement professionnel aux membres issus des collèges, des instituts et des polytechniques.

Mike Folinas

Mike Folinas est Directeur des subventions de recherche pour l’unité des sciences naturelles et du génie au sein de l’équipe de Subventions d’agences et de fondations du Service de la recherche de l’Université de Toronto. Il est diplômé de cette institution et détient un bacclauréat en sciences biologiques.

Il a occupé divers rôles au sein de l’Université de Toronto depuis 2003 avant de se joindre au Service de la recherche. Il a d’abord travaillé pour l’Unité des initiatives institutionnelles avant d’accepter le poste de Directeur des subventions, où il dirige une équipe de deux personnes qui se consacrent à la gestion des programmes CRSNG et de nombreuses autres organismes subventionnaires, notamment l’Agence spatiale canadienne, CFAR et le Ontario Ministry of Transportation Funding.

Mike contribue présentement au bulletin Connexion de l’ACAAR et prend en charge les sections “Recommandez une ressource” et “La question du mois”. Il joue un rôle clé dans la promotion du bulletin.

Mike adore voyager est et un amateur de golf, de hockey et de ski.

Lauren Gogo

Lauren Gogo est Directrice des contrats de recherche à la Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation. Elle est responsable de la révision et de la négociation des contrats de recherche clinique et dirige une équipe de négociateurs, tout en se penchant sur des projets stratégiques de développement de politiques de la recherche. Avant d’arriver au HHSC, Lauren a occupé le poste de Conseillère aux contrats à l’Université de Toronto, où elle a négocié des ententes avec le gouvernement et l’industrie dans le secteur biomédical et des sciences de la vie. Elle est experte en négociation des termes portant sur la propriété intellectuelle et a travaillé de près avec l’équipe de commercialisation de l’Université de Toronto sur des ententes pré- et post-invention. Elle a aussi travaillé en tant qu’analyste d’affaires à l’Hôpital St. Michael’s de Toronto et a négocié plusieurs contrats de recherche clinique. Elle a aussi siégé sur le comité d’éthique de la recherche afin de répondre à toute question portant sur les contrats de recherche.

détient une maîtrise en technologie biomédiacale et joue un rôle actif au sein de l’ACAAR : elle a occupé le poste de rédactrice de coordination du bulletin Connexion de l’ACAAR durant presque deux ans. Elle y a également contribué des articles, rédigé des textes pour le blogue de l’Association, présenté des webinaires, et a occupé le poste de coordonnatrice de la traduction, s’assurant que chaque contribution (ex. articles pour le bulletin Connexion, règlements administratifs, information portant sur les webinaires) soient traduits par les bénévoles. Elle a également contribué à des ateliers et des séances présentées dans le cadre du colloque annuel de l’ACAAR.

Katie Porter

Hamilton Health Sciences

Katie Porter est la Directrice de l’administration de la recherche au Hamilton Health Sciences, qui abrite l’un des environnements les plus actifs au niveau de la recherche médicale au Canada. Son équipe appuie les activités de recherche de plus de 500 chercheurs et de leurs équipes.

Katie donne régulièrement des cours à l’Université McMaster, elle est co-auteure des livres A-Z Guide to Research Contract Review et Steer Your Career: A Research Administrator's Manual for Mapping Success, et elle donne fréquemment des conférences, ateliers et webinaires.

Activement impliquée dans l’Association canadienne des administratrices et des administrateurs de recherche, elle contribue à l’infolettre Connexion ACAAR, elle agit à titre de mentor, et elle a été reconnue comme un « Dénicheur de talents » de premier ordre en Mai. Ses livres sont consultés par des pairs dans plus de 450 institutions à travers le monde, et la Société des administrateurs de recherche internationale a reconnu en 2012 ses contributions exceptionnelles à la profession, tout comme l’ACAR à travers le prix Excellence en gestion de la recherche et le prix Dan Chase en 2014 et en 2015 respectivement, ainsi que le premier prix pour son affiche sur la mondialisation de la recherche clinique en 2014. 

Danielle Puddicombe

Danielle Puddicombe est Coordonnatrice des finances et des opérations de la recherche au Collège Red River et possède plus de 14 ans d’expérience en administration de la recherche appliquée. Elle s’occupe de la gestion et de la supervision de tous les aspects financiers et opérationnels du département de la recherche, dont le suivi financier et la reddition de comptes, les relations avec les organismes subventionnaires au sujet d’affaires financières et administratives, la direction de divers processus administratifs, la gestion de l’équipe des opérations de la recherche, et la participation à des activités d’amélioration de la qualité et des procédés. Danielle est membre de l’ACAAR depuis 2005 et co-dirige le SIG Collège depuis 2017. Elle joue un rôle clé au sein du comité de colloque. Elle a communiqué avec plusieurs administrateurs et administratrices de la recherche au Canada dans le but de les guider dans leur rôle au sein d’un collège, et a contribué à rehausser le profil des collèges dans l’industrie de la recherche appliquée et au sein de l’ACAAR. Ses objectifs pour son mandat sur le Comité exécutif sont de continuer à souligner le rôle important que jouent les collèges, les polytechniques et les instituts du Canada dans la recherche appliquée et à accroître le nombre et l’engagement de membres de l’ACAAR issus des collèges et des polytechniques.

Amanda Sawlor

Amanda possède plus de 15 ans d'expérience en administration de la recherche dans divers domaines : d'assistante de recherche en tant qu'étudiante diplômée à des fonctions de pré et post octroi au sein d’un organisme sans but lucratif, et ce dans des diverses universités. En tant que professionnelle accessible dont la philosophie est que pour avoir une équipe productive, il faut un esprit de collaboration, de l'énergie positive et beaucoup d'enthousiasme, Amanda a animé des conférences et des webinaires et a été une membre active d’ACAAR pendant plus de 10 ans. Elle est également la responsable actuelle des finances des GIS (Groupes d’intérêts) et est toujours prête à partager son expérience avec d'autres administrateurs de recherche.

Lorna Very

Lorna Very est la directrice des subventions, des prix et distinctions et de l’éthique de la recherche dans le Service de gestion de la recherche à l’Université de Calgary. Elle supervise la gestion des subventions externes et internes, des prix et distinctions et de l’unité de l’éthique de la recherche et conformité. Lorna est avec le Service de gestion de la recherche depuis 1989 et a occupé plusieurs postes au sein du Service de gestion de la recherche et du Cabinet du vice-recteur recherche.

Représentants de liaison de l'Agence

Pierre Côté

IRSC

Pierre Côté est le directeur général intérimaire, soutien aux activités, chargé de la gestion des programmes et des concours par la gestion du lancement, le traitement des demandes, l'interprétation des politiques, l'administration des titulaires de subventions, la gestion des demandes et la propriété du système opérationnel for business  system ownership. Pierre représente également l’IRSC au sein de la direction d’ACAAR. Pierre a débuté à l’ IRSC en juin 2016 à titre de gestionnaire des opérations financières et de l'approvisionnement à la tête du renouvèlement de l'administration financière des trois organismes. Pierre a obtenu son baccalauréat en administration des affaires avec spécialisation en comptabilité de l'Université de Moncton en 1999 et est comptable agréé depuis 2002. Il a acquis de l'expérience en gestion financière en travaillant en tant que professionnel de la vérification au Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada de 1999 à 2007 et en tant que chef de la comptabilité au sein de Parcs Canada de 2007 à 2013.  Pierre a également travaillé à la direction générale des finances de Statistique Canada de 2013 à 2016, où il a occupé les postes de directeur adjoint intérimaire, systèmes et contrôles financiers, et de directeur adjoint, opérations de gestion financière, où il était responsable des opérations financières du Recensement de la population de 2016.

Adele Savoie

CRSH

Adèle Savoie est directrice de la planification des programmes et des activités au Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et est chargée de fournir une gamme de services qui appuient la gestion des programmes et des concours.  Elle travaille au CRSH depuis l'automne 1998 et a acquis une vaste expérience de la gestion et de la prestation de programmes, de la gouvernance d'entreprise, de la conception de programmes et des politiques. De plus, Adèle a assuré la liaison entre le CRSH et ACAAR pendant plusieurs années.

Jas Michalski

CRSNG

Jas Michalski joue un rôle de premier plan au sein du secrétariat du CRSNG depuis 2014, où il travaille à l'amélioration continue des processus, à l'assurance de la qualité et à la promotion de l'harmonisation entre les trois organismes (CRSNG, CRSH et IRSC). Avant de se joindre au CRSNG, Jas a travaillé à la Fédération canadienne des municipalités à titre de directeur du développement pour le Fonds municipal vert, où il a géré les critères d'admissibilité, les limites de financement et le processus de sélection par concours pour les projets d'immobilisation et a élaboré des paramètres de rapport. Jas est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès sciences de l'Université Queens et est biologiste agréé.

Heidi Bandulet

Heidi Bandulet est chargée de programmes à la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation (CFI) depuis 2010. En plus d'être impliquée dans la conception et la livraison des concours de financement de la FCI, à savoir en tant que co-responsable du Fonds d'innovation 2015, elle gère un vaste portefeuille de projets institutionnels à travers le Canada suite à l’octroi de la contribution FCI. Pendant deux ans, Heidi a également géré les prix Steacie, Brockhouse, Herzberg et Polanyi au Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada. Avant de travailler dans l'administration de la recherche, elle était Associée de Recherche au Laboratoire de Sources Femtosecondes Source à l'INRS, au Québec. Elle détient un doctorat en physique de l'École Polytechnique de Paris, France.

Valérie Laflamme

CRSH

Valérie Laflamme est vice-présidente associée au Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements au Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH). Elle est au CRSH depuis 2012 et y a d’abord travaillé en tant que gestionnaire et directrice des programmes de bourses et des Prix Impacts. Elle a intégré la fonction publique par le Programme de recrutement des leaders politiques. Au moment de quitter la France pour revenir au Canada, elle était maître de conférences en sociologie et démographie à l’Université de Lille, chercheure à l’Institut national d’études démographiques, et conseillère municipale de la ville de Tourcoing. Valérie a obtenu son doctorat en démographie et sciences sociales de l’École des hautes études en sciences sociales (France) en ayant reçu l’appui du CRSH et du Fonds de recherche du Québec. Ses recherches portaient sur le logement, les politiques urbaines et l’histoire sociale et démographique des familles en milieu urbain.

Executive Committee

President
Deborah Zornes

Royal Roads University

I have, and am, enjoying serving on CARA’s board – it allows me to give back to the organization, provides an opportunity to develop my leadership skills, and connects me on a much closer level to our members and to our funding partners.

Vice-President
Dominique Michaud

Dominique Michaud is Director, Research Development in the Office of Research of Concordia University in Montreal. Dominique has been active in research administration for over 25 years with prior appointments first as a research coordinator and then as a research advisor in humanities and social sciences at Université du Québec à Montréal before taking position at Concordia in 2012. She is a Past President of ADARUQ, the Québec Association of University Research Administrators, and is currently serving a mandate as Member-at-Large on the CARA Executive Board.

Secretary-Treasurer
Angela Zeno

York  University 

Angela Zeno is a long-time leader in CARA’s finance community and has been recognized for her achievements in welcoming new colleagues to CARA, co-developing conferences workshops for fellow finance experts, and presenting research finance webinars to our membership. Angela is a networking catalyst among research finance professionals and she has helped created a collegial, dynamic community of her peers. 

Members at Large

Rachel Brown

Rachel has been the Research Grants & Contracts Officer at Niagara College for more than 11 years, which has allowed for being a witness to the unprecedented growth of College Research Offices throughout Canada, while being an integral part of the growth of the award-winning research office at Niagara College. Rachel is passionate about continual improvement and advancement opportunities. She is a long-time CARA volunteer who has been active in the increased profile of Colleges within the CARA organization. As an active member with CARA since 2011, she is committed to advancing opportunities for members from Colleges, Institutions, and Polytechnics.

Mike Folinas

Mike Folinas is the Research Funding Manager for the Natural Sciences and Engineering unit with the Agency and Foundation Funding team in Research Services Office (RSO) at the University of the Toronto.  Mike is an alumnus of the University of Toronto with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biological Sciences.

He has worked in a variety of roles with the UofT since 2003 before eventually joining the RSO, first with the Institutional Initiatives unit before taking on the Research Funding Manager role where he oversees a team of 2 others managing the University’s NSERC funding programs along with a range of other opportunities including the Canadian Space Agency, CFAR and Ontario Ministry of Transportation funding.

Mike currently volunteers with the CARA Connection and is responsible for the “Recommend a Resource”, “Question of the Month” sections and is avidly involved in advertising for the newsletter.

Mike is a keen traveler, golfer, hockey player and skier.

Lauren Gogo

Lauren Gogo is currently the Manager of Research Contracts at Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation.  She is responsible for reviewing and negotiating clinical research contracts and providing direction to a team of contract negotiators, as well as focusing on strategic and policy projects involving research.  Prior to joining HHSC, Lauren was a Contracts Officer at the University of Toronto where she negotiated industry and government agreements in the Biomedical and Life Sciences Sector.  She is well versed in negotiating intellectual property terms and worked closely with the commercialization team at U of T on agreements both pre- and post-invention.  She was also a Research Business Analyst at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto, and negotiated many clinical trial agreements as well as participated on the research ethics board to answer any contract-related questions.

Lauren has a Masters in Biomedical Technology, and is an active member of the Canadian Association of Research Administrators (CARA) where she previously served as the coordinating editor of the newsletter, the CARA Connection, for almost two years.  Lauren has contributed articles to the CARA Connection and upcoming blog, presented webinars, and served as the CARA translation coordinator, ensuring that pieces such as articles for the newsletter, CARA bylaws and webinar information are translated by volunteers.  She has also presented workshops and sessions at CARA National.

Katie Porter

Hamilton Health Sciences

Katie Porter is Director of Research Administration at Hamilton Health Sciences, Canada’s second-largest hospital network.  Her portfolio includes Ethics, Research Development, Human Resources, Research Contracts, Business Development, Research Infrastructure as well as the HHS Research Insurance Corporation. 

She holds an Executive MBA from the Ivey School of Business at Western University, and  is also a regular lecturer at McMaster University.  Her book  Steer Your Career is used as a textbook at the University of South Central Florida’s Master of Research Administration degree.

Her contributions to the research administration profession have been recognized with awards from Canadian Association of Research Administrators, the Society of Research Administrators International, and, most recently, the Association of Research Managers and Administrators in the United Kingdom awarded her the Outstanding Contribution to Research Management and Administration Award at their annual conference in Birmingham, UK.

Danielle Puddicombe

Danielle Puddicombe is the Research Finance and Operations Coordinator at Red River College with over 14 years of experience in applied research administration.  She is responsible for the management and oversight of all operating and financial aspects of the research department, such as financial tracking and reporting;  acting as the key contact with funding bodies regarding financial and administrative matters; leading various administrative management processes and activities; managing the research operations team; and engaging in quality and process improvement activities. Danielle has been a member of CARA since 2005, has co-lead the College SIG group since 2017, and is an active member within the conference committee. She has actively engaged with research administrators across Canada, providing guidance and insight on the role research administrators have within the College setting; as well as increasing the awareness within the association of the impact that Colleges have in the applied research industry and the importance to have more representation of Colleges within CARA. Her goals for her term on the Executive is to continue to highlight the important role that Canada’s Colleges, Polytechnics and Institutions bring to the applied research table and champion for the growth of the Colleges/Polytechnics membership and engagement within CARA.

Amanda Sawlor

University of Guelph

Amanda brings over 15 years’ experience working in Research Administration related to a variety of areas:  from research assistant as a graduate student to pre and post award functions within a not for profit organization, and in both small and medium sized universities.  As an approachable professional whose philosophy is that in order to have a productive team there needs to be a spirit of collaboration, positive energy and lots of enthusiasm, Amanda has presented conference sessions and webinars and has been an active member of CARA for over 10 years. She is also the current Finance SIG Lead and is always willing to share experiences with other Research Administrators. 

Lorna Very

Lorna Very is the Director, Grants, Awards and Ethics in Research Services at the University of Calgary.  Lorna oversees the management of external and internal research grants, prizes and awards, and the research ethics and compliance unit.  Lorna has been with Research Services since 1989 and held several positions both within Research Services and the Office of the Vice-President (Research).  

Agency Liaison Representatives

Pierre Côté

CIHR

Pierre Côté is the Acting Director General, Operations Support responsible for supporting program and competition management through launch management, application processing, policy interpretation, grant holder administration, inquiry management and business system ownership.  Pierre is also CIHR representative on CARA Exec.  Pierre started at CIHR in June 2016 as Manager Financial Operations and Procurement leading the Renewal of the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Initiative.  Pierre received his Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting from the Université de Moncton in 1999 and has been a chartered professional accountant since 2002.  He acquired experience in financial management while working as an audit professional at the Office of the Auditor General of Canada from 1999 to 2007 and as Chief Accountant with Parks Canada from 2007 to 2013.  Pierre also worked at Statistics Canada’s Finance Branch from 2013 to 2016, where he served as Acting Assistant Director, Financial Systems and Controls and Assistant Director, Financial Management Operations including being responsible for the financial operations of the 2016 Census of Population. 

Adele Savoie

SSHRC

Adèle Savoie is the Director or Programs Planning and Operations at the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) and is responsible for providing a range of services that support program and competition management.  She has worked at SSHRC since the fall of 1998 and has acquired broad experience in program management and delivery, corporate governance, program design and policy. In addition, Adèle has served as the SSHRC liaison with CARA for a number of years.

Jas Michalski

NSERC

Jas Michalski has been in a leadership role within NSERC's Corporate Secretariat since 2014 working on continuous process improvement, quality assurance and the furtherance of Tri-Agency (NSERC, SSHRC and CIHR) harmonization.  Prior to joining NSERC Jas worked at the Federation of Canadian Municipalities as Development Manager for the Green Municipal Fund where he managed the eligibility criteria, funding limits and the competitive selection process for capital projects and developed reporting metrics.  Jas holds a BSc from Queen’s University and is a Registered Professional Biologist.  

Heidi Bandulet

Heidi Bandulet joined the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) in 2010 as Senior Programs Officer. In addition to being involved in the design and delivery of CFI funding competitions, namely as the co-lead of the 2015 Innovation Fund, she manages the post-award aspects of a large portfolio of institutional projects across Canada. For two years, Heidi also managed the Steacie, Brockhouse, Herzberg and Polanyi prizes at the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada. Prior to working in research administration, she was a Research Associate at the Canadian Advanced Laser Light Source at INRS, Québec. She holds a PhD in Physics from École Polytechnique in France.

Valérie Laflamme

SSHRC

Valérie Laflamme is Associate Vice-President for the Tri-Agency Institutional Programs at the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC). She has been at SSHRC since 2012, first as a manager, and then as a Director for the scholarships and fellowships programs and the Impact Awards. She integrated the public service through the Recruitment of Policy Leaders Program. Before moving back to Canada from France, she was a maître de conférences in sociology and demography at the Université de Lille, a researcher with the Institut national d’études démographiques and a municipal councilor (Tourcoing, France). Valérie has a PhD in demography and social sciences from the École des hautes études en sciences sociales (France), and has received fellowships from both SSHRC and the Fonds de recherche du Québec. Her own research has focused on housing, urban policies, and the social and demographic history of urban families.